PDA

View Full Version : hvac experts, need quick help

Big Green
03-30-2006, 05:29
All,
This isn

Hubert
03-30-2006, 08:48
Since no one else posted yet: I am no expert. You gotta be careful asking for those, most guys on here are humble.

Doesn't sound like the duct controls work? I think thats your problem not necessarily the blower. I think warm coolant always circulates to the heater core now a days (use to be the coolant was manually switched and contolled too via the temp setting). Whether you get heat or not depends on if air is vented/pushed accross heater core. Sounds like that door or flap is not closing. I can hear a flap close on my truck when I turn on defroster. Note on defrost air is cooled and heated to dehumidify it. On AC the appropriate ducts close to force air over the AC evaporator only. Max AC it recirculates cab air.

When you have AC on is one of the hoses running between the compressor and cab cold? If so more evidence to bad duct controls.

On the positive side its bad for your feet but adds a little cooling capacity to engine coolant.

JohnC
03-30-2006, 08:59
All the hvac controlls are stepper motors. Sounds like they aren't being powered and you're stuck on "heat". Without a schematic I can't help, but I'd start by looking for something unplugged or a blown fuse. If it was the control I'd expect some things to work.

Big Green
03-30-2006, 09:56
Thanks for the ideas guys.

Hubert, you hit the nail on the head, most here are fairly humble but when it comes to hvac controls everybody is an expert compared to me... :)

To answer a couple of the questions:

Yes, the a/c pump runs and the line get cold (very cold)
No, the stepper motors don't appear to be moving
All fuses are good (checked and rechecked and then replaced for good measure)

Basically at this point the only thing that does work is the a/c button. It lights up as it should and kicks the pump on. Other than that it is d.o.a..