PDA

View Full Version : Air Filters use and why?

Bnave95
04-09-2006, 04:53
I wanted to start a topic on what filters are being used. Why you went with the filters of choice. Paper, Amsoil-two types,foam or EA, eFe, Unifoam, K&N, Ect.

Doug Thom
04-09-2006, 05:39
I have been using the Amsoil Air Filters for about 3 years now and am more then satisfied. I will be ordering the new Ea filter next time around as they are an improvement over the old ones.
regards
Doug

Bnave95
04-09-2006, 06:03
http://home.usadatanet.net/~jbplock/ISO5011/SPICER.htm

Dvldog8793
04-09-2006, 06:34
Howdy
I use a UNI foam in my 1999 and KN in all my other vehicles. The KNs are used in conjunction with a foam or membrane type prefilter. I have seen oil testing that prooved that a bare KN (or possibly other cloth type filters) do not do a good job in a dusty environment. So my wifes van, the lawn mower, my welder, caprice,(the GTO and Vette get good old paper) etc... can use the KN w/ prefilter. But my turbo diesel gets the UNI foam. My reason for using the reusable filters is that I am a maintenance freak. Over a short period the extra cost is more than made up, at least for me.
L8r
Conley

Artworks
04-09-2006, 08:57
http://home.usadatanet.net/~jbplock/ISO5011/SPICER.htm
Thanks for the link, that's just sort of info i am looking for. i going to be investing in exhaust upgrades on my truck and was then going to do upgrade on air side as well, now lookslike i go for newer style air box and oem filter to increase flow without sacrificing filtering capacity. Thanks

atom_c
04-09-2006, 09:28