PDA

View Full Version : Water injection nozzle size?

ol9465er
04-12-2006, 21:05
Hi all...

I have searched TDP and several web sites as I am considering water injection. However, I can't find a recommended nozzle or Gal / hr size vs PSI. I am not looking for lots of power, I am more looking for cooling and some power.

Any recommendations or leads to websites that may have info would be appreciated. Any comments also welcomed....

Thanks,

DmaxMaverick
04-12-2006, 21:37
Try contacting Bill Heath. He's well versed in the process, and sells complete systems, as well as components for WMI.

Chris611
04-13-2006, 08:00
I'm not an expert, but I will try to help. I built my own system last summer. I did contact Bill Heath and he was more than willing to help, so he is a good resource. The biggest thing I learned from Bill is that you don't need to worry about "misting" the water in. In other words don't worry about the nozzle size or spray pattern. He said to just dribble it in and the speed of the air coming off the turbo will "atomize" the water. I used a needle valve threaded into the outlet of the turbo to control the flow rate. I calibrated it out of the truck so that I knew what the flow rate was per a given setting. This isn't totally accurate because when the turbo is suppling say 12psi of boost, the flow coming out of the needle valve will be less than when the flow coming out has 0 pressure. But it does give you an idea. Someone I talked to said to turn the flow up until the truck starts to buck when the water comes on and then turn it down slights to stop the bucking and thats the spot. I never got that high. I think I was at 3-4 gal/hr and it would drop the intake temp significatly. One a full throttle run from a stop, w/o water the intake would hit just over 200 degree. With water, it never gets over 110 or so. I've also left the water off when pulling a hill. When the intake hits 200 I turn on the water and the gauge drops to about 110 or so. It's cool to w