PDA

View Full Version : Injectors?

98 chevy cheyenne man
04-17-2006, 11:08
I am fairly new to the diesel Chev myself I have only had it 2 yrs.(haaa my mistake letting the ex have it for so long )
I had a water in fuel light come on over the past few weeks and constant stalling out. I dropped the tank (dumped fuel, replaced fuel filter) bled lines and all the rest that I got advice to do and it is still stalling out when I am driving occasionaly. I have done my home work and now am starting to think it is the fuel injectors (being as the truck was neglected for so long)
the water in fuel light keeps comming on , and the service the throttle light as well if it is the throttle body what could I be expecting in the way of costs?
Any help would be appreciated I am just so glad I found this site IT ROCKS, I am going to subscribe and get my hands on those trouble shooting guides as well, why pay mechs when I can learn myself.
Thanks so much
Gordon

JohnC
04-17-2006, 11:25
Did you find water in the tank? the sensor is in the filter housing, so if you didn't bleed it then you will still get the indication.

The "throttle" is just an electronic position indicator attached to the pedal. there is no ""Throttle body" to worry about.

98 chevy cheyenne man
04-17-2006, 11:55
Thank you for the post I am going to check that tonight, I have read so many threads on here it gets a little boggeled trying to pin point what it could be I seem to have symptoms of alot of posts on stalling. the white smoke the shimmy whiel drive the surging apparently it also could be the LP and fuel system vacum? haaa man talk about a needle in a hay stack.
I was trying to get an idea if I take it to a shop and they say I need one or two or whatever injector apparently at like 500-700 dollars or somethign a piece, that was actualy my problem I klnow mechanics need to eat but I dont want to get hosed either.

Hubert
04-17-2006, 14:55