PDA

View Full Version : Pre/post intercooler boost pressures

Mark Rinker
04-17-2006, 11:37
Should there be any measureable difference in pre/post intercooler boost pressure readings? I am no thermodynamic engineer, but it would seem to me that the pressure drop should be negligable.

I am seeing as much as 25% variance between my dash mounted gauge (sender is post-intercooler, and lower) and MSD PC diagnostics software (sender is pre-intercooler, and higher).

Does the air charge actually cool, shrink, and lose that much of its pressure across the intercooler?

More Power
04-17-2006, 13:16
I haven't seen any good data, but some suggest a 2-3 psi drop across the intercooler, depending on boosted air temperature and boost pressures.... Yes, air density will increase and air volume will shrink when the boosted air is cooled across an intercooler.

You might try swapping senders to see if what you're seeing is due to gauge calibration or if some of it is due to density/pressure differences in/out. :)

Jim

Mark Rinker
04-17-2006, 18:59
Good idea.

I was thinking the simplest test would be to hook the MSD system over to the 'post intercooler' side. Both gauges should read exactly the same - any difference is calibration.

More Power
04-18-2006, 08:07
I was reading Corky Bell's book last night entitled "Maximum Boost". In the intercooler section, he talked about a goal of 1 psi of pressure drop across the intercooler for automotive applications. The lower the number, the more efficient the IC, regarding airflow. :) I suspect some of what you're seeing is due to gauge calibration....

SoTxPollock
04-18-2006, 10:39