PDA

View Full Version : Questions about cooling with fuel line

mtroadkil
04-24-2006, 21:51
Hello, I'm new to all of this so please bare with me. I do not own a Duramax yet...I need to know if it is possible to run the fuel line straight to the filter without it cooling the electronic box it does from the factory? The reason that I ask this is I would like to run a SVO/WVO (straight veggie oil/waste veggie oil) system. If you are not sure what this is it's basically starting and warming up to 180 the SVO/WVO and then switching to this fuel and off of the diesel...you need to start and stop on diesel or it can sludge up your lines.
Any way to my question since the veggie oil is heated if it passed through the electonic box (forgive me that I don't know what it is or does) that was supposed to be cooled by the fuel and now it's hot ????? It seems that it's not gonna work to good!!!
Maybe I will have to make biodiesel instead???!!!
Please let me know what you think.... I was thinking just by pass it( the box)
Thanks. if possible to email me that would be great. I'm moving and it's easier to check email mtroadkil@verizon....hope it's ok to say that.
Thanks for the help a head of time.
John

DmaxMaverick
04-24-2006, 22:21
You shouldn't have to worry about it, either way. The "heated" w/svo isn't going to be hot enough to overheat the EDU, and the oil will still pull heat out of it. In any case, you wouldn't want to stop the flow of fuel through the EDU, because then it will overheat.

The LBZ's don't have an EDU, so if you are looking at new (later 2006), it's not even in the picture.

mtroadkil
04-25-2006, 05:15
Thanks for the response. Is it possible to put a newer ECU unit on a 2001-2002 Duramax? Budget restraints allow that I would purchase an older model...the kids have gotten into the habit of eatting at least three times a day!!!!

DmaxMaverick
04-25-2006, 05:45