PDA

View Full Version : Update on electronic to mechanical IP

DickWells
08-10-2004, 18:33
The Sub. is working great. Still all grins every time I drive it. Got the shifting working quite well. I can lift my foot and shift just about where I want to. Lots more get up and go.
Just found out where my tach drive wire is, (circuit #121 White at connecter #200 - under glove box. Where's the generater? Anybody willing to tell me? Can't find it in the Helm manual. The after market cruise is all in except that lousy wire to the tach. Maybe tomorrow.
Why wouldn't anyone want to (revert) to mechanical? If things keep going this well, I may have 3 FSD's and a remote harness/heat-sink for sale.
FWIW, Dick.

MEdlin
08-10-2004, 18:40
Dick,

Has this conversion been a real pain, or did it go fairly smooth? I have a 94 Sub 3/4 ton. Great truck, but I've been fighting a PMD problem for the last 6 months.

CareyWeber
08-10-2004, 18:49
Originally posted by Dick Wells:
The Sub. is working great. Still all grins every time I drive it. Got the shifting working quite well. I can lift my foot and shift just about where I want to. Lots more get up and go.
Just found out where my tach drive wire is, (circuit #121 White at connecter #200 - under glove box. Where's the generater? Anybody willing to tell me? Can't find it in the Helm manual. The after market cruise is all in except that lousy wire to the tach. Maybe tomorrow.
Why wouldn't anyone want to (revert) to mechanical? If things keep going this well, I may have 3 FSD's and a remote harness/heat-sink for sale.
FWIW, Dick. Dick

I think the alternator ("P connecctor on the alternator).

Carey

DickWells
08-11-2004, 18:03
MEdlin: I wouldn't say that it's like falling off a log, but based on what I've experienced with the electronics since I bought the Sub. in 98 with 64k on it, I feel right now that I should have done this in 99.
There are a few caveats.
* You need Jim Bigley's books.