PDA

View Full Version : Loss of power - 05 LLY

cptxguys
05-21-2006, 11:34
Hi,
I am new to the fourm, but was wondering if anyone has some thoughts/comments on the following loss of power from my 2005 D/A.

I have a 2005 Chevy 3500 dooley with the LLY engine and Allison Transmission. The truck has 18,000 miles on it.

While towing our 5'er this weekend (12,000 lbs), on the way home, I was crusing along at 60mph. All of a sudden, the engine reved as if it was downshifting and the I had a major loss in power. My maximum speed was 30 mph.

I can hear the 'whistle' of the turbo when starting from as stop and when shifting from 1st/2nd. At that point, engine sounds 'normal'. Once the truck shifts into 3rd, the engine chugs/bucks and will only speed up to 30 mph. No apparant problems while stopped. It seems to idle just fine.

I limped into a local diesel repair shop (that happend to be only 2 miles away)to have it diagnosed tomorrow. In the meantime, I was wondering if anyone else had a similar issue.

I've read quite a bit about fuel filters on the forum (thanks!), so I'm thinking this may be the problem.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Robert

DmaxMaverick
05-21-2006, 12:36
Welcome to the Forums!

Sounds like it went into "Limp Mode". I wouldn't call it a "loss of power", although you did lose power, because the PCM forces the condition. If you are on your original fuel filter, that would be the place to start, and will very likely be the end-all of your problem. Before you spend a bunch of $$ on diagnostics, change it (or have them do it), and try to repeat the incident. If you found a good shop, this should be their advice, as well. A check of DTC's (the SES light should be on) will indicate the problem. If you have a fuel delivery trouble code, my bet would be the filter.

cptxguys
05-21-2006, 12:49