PDA

View Full Version : '94 K1500 "lurching" in reverse...

brianblack138
06-08-2006, 15:33
I've noticed something very infrequently with my truck... I bought it used in november with only 108k miles on it and it drives great (starts right up, no bad smoking, good solid accelleration) but a couple of times i've noted that when I throw it into reverse (it's an automatic transmission) the truck will lurch a bit. Almost like something is stuck and then slipping... I'm new to the whole mechanics thing, but to me this seems like it could indicate a problem with the transmission. Does anybody have any ideas what could cause this?

DA BIG ONE
06-08-2006, 17:26
The 4L80e has a manifold pressure sensor inside pan which measures tranny pressures, when it starts to fail you will that lurching.

Check your codes.

moondoggie
06-08-2006, 17:48
Good Day!

I've experienced similar with our Sub - it feels just like someone very briefly floored the footfeed at the instant it went into reverse. The engine revs quite high but only very briefly, & without a firm foot on the brake bad things would happen behind me. Mine definitely does NOT feel like tranny trouble, except inasmuch as it might be initiating whatever's going wrong.

I'll be following this one...

Blessings!

brianblack138
06-08-2006, 19:55
moondoggie, thats EXACTLY how it feels!

DA BIG ONE: I checked the codes and nothing came up. I'll give them another check and i'll post back the results. I'll also double check for any leaks with transmission fluid. I've noticed an oil leak, but maybe it's really transmission fluid.. I'll have to lay some paper down and see exactly where it's falling. For the most part the truck has been solid, but as is the case with any 12 year old truck, gaskets and hoses degrade and fluids start to leak. You fix two things and in the process something else breaks...

BrentN
06-09-2006, 07:36