PDA

View Full Version : Transmission issues

yuflesh
06-22-2006, 07:31
Hey guys, I was hoping you can help. Tranny does some weird stuff. Right around 60km/h (35mph) between second and third, if you are on a straight stretch and barely any gas applies, it will jump between second and third. Back and fourth, really annoying. No load, just the truck. Its a 1992 GMC 3/4 ton with about 40,000 miles on the tranny. Does the same thing between 3rd and 4th at about 90km/h (50mph)

Im thinking (and Im not an expert on trannys by any stretch of imagination) it could be the kickdown cable, (or does this thing has tv cable). One thing that I did notice is that tranny fluid is slightly overfilled, and there are some bubbles on the top. I was thinking about dropping the pan this weekend, changing the fluid and filter, but Ill wait for your opinion first. Oh yes, fluid is nice and red, and it does not smell burnt at all.

Can anyone help out?

Thank you very much

Marko

john8662
06-22-2006, 12:37
Probably have to ID the transmission.

Do you know what transmission came in the truck?

For '92 you have two options, the 4L60E and the 4L80E. The 4L60E is more similar to the TH700 and will be found in 1500 series and light duty (6 lug wheel) 2500 series. For 8 lug 2500 and 3500 series, you'll likely have the 4L80E.

For either one, you're most likely to not have a TV (kickdown/detent cable) as it will be controlled mainly on speed sensor in the tranny and the TPS on the injection pump.

I suspect at this point that it's the TPS sensor on the injection pump that is failing.

As for the tranny fluid being slighlt overfilled, don't sweat it, that's about the normal, and actually the way I always fill a tranny, because they're picky about being just slightly too low...

yuflesh
06-22-2006, 19:14