PDA

View Full Version : Engine damage

IndyDoug
07-03-2006, 09:09
I am new to diesel engines, but can tell I have a serious problem. I recently had a bad oil leak (by-pass filter hose) that caused the engine to stumble and die on my wife. After towing it home, fixing the leak and refilling the oil (several quarts low), I was able to start it, but it makes a terrible racket even at idle. From what I have researched, I suspect it is piston slap.

I am looking for advice on a reputable diesel engine mechanic in the Indianapolis area (I am not sure the shop where I took my gas-engine vehicles is knowledgeable enough about diesels.) Any advice is appreciated.

After I get a diagnosis, I will probably be back for recommendations (rebuild, replace, upgrade, etc.)

ronniejoe
07-03-2006, 09:11
Give me a call. I'm sure I could help you diagnose the problem.

grape
07-04-2006, 12:04
lets see, i ran this engine out of oil and now it knocks.....................yeah it might be piston slap from the rod bearings being gone.

ronniejoe
07-04-2006, 12:13
Welcome back, Grape.;)

Robyn
07-04-2006, 13:26
I have seen the aftermath of a couple rigs that lost oil.
The only recomendation I can make is to yank the engine out and find another good used one to drop in. I really would hesitate to go for a rebuild as its going to be a spendy one after a meltdown.
Sorry to hear of such a loss. My room mate of years past did that to my Olds Cutlass Diesel one night. The oil pump shaft stripped and she ran the thing with the oil light on and engine screaming for help for 27 miles before the valiant little creature finally sucumbed.
I did a post mortem the next day and it was toast.
I cried a tear or two as I had just purchased the engine from a local car lot with a dead olds crumpled around it a few months earlier.

Sorry to hear of your loss but there really is only one way to proceed and that is to either replace it or tear it down and expect to have a hefty bill to repair allthe damage.