PDA

View Full Version : 6.5L stalling/no start

countrymidi
07-08-2006, 13:43
I'm new to having a diesel and know very little about them.. and always being a chevy man i got a 94 silverado 1 ton dually. it stalled on me a time or so, over the first few months. i just restarted it and kept goin.Now it will start, run for 2 - 10 seconds and die. sometimes it will start back up and sometimes it wont.A nearby mechanic looked at it to tell me the ip was out..it could be ,but i still find that hard to beleive since it will start and run smoothly with no smoking.I 've read everything in the stalling section and find alot it difficult to check..with the wiring so packed in there.last week end it started and run 30 miles ( after sitting for a month) then went back to the stalling after 10 seconds.

Could the FSD be bad enough to fail after 2 - 10 seconds.?

JTodd
07-08-2006, 13:55
In a word - Yes. It sounds like your problem is FSD / PMD.

Robyn
07-08-2006, 14:46
Fetch up a new PMD (black box on the drivers side of the IP) and remote mount it on a heat sink in a cool spot near the core support. Extension wiring harnesses are available.
This is a classic issue and easy to fix. No need to remove the pump or anything else just unplug the harness and plug in a new PMD. Caution the PMD needs to be on a heat sink and be sure to get the right resistor. The resistor goes in the PMD around the plug pins. Numbers such as 5-7-9
if in doubt drop in a 7 and you should be fine.
The PMD is a set of power transistors that run the fuel controls in the IP and when they die the scenery stops going by right now.
Good luck keep us posted
Robyn

winemaker
07-08-2006, 15:00