PDA

View Full Version : Turbo-Master vs. OE vacuum

countrymidi
07-21-2006, 17:39
After getting a code 78, I'm pretty sure the vac pump is out.. I can buy a turbo master for about the same price as a new vac pump.. Im just curious how many have tried the T-M and is it better than the OE vacuum for the wastegate.

TurboDiverArt
07-21-2006, 18:12
After getting a code 78, I'm pretty sure the vac pump is out.. I can buy a turbo master for about the same price as a new vac pump.. Im just curious how many have tried the T-M and is it better than the OE vacuum for the wastegate.
I think the stock vacuum holds the puck tighter than a turbo master set to 10 psi of boost. I have a turbo master on my truck. The difference is that at high RPM's the stock ECM is going to pull boost electronically while the T-M will hold maximum boost. It really depends on what else you have in the truck.

Art.

countrymidi
07-21-2006, 18:17
Everything in the truck is stock except When i replaced the fsd i did put in a # 9 resistor.

Bnave95
07-22-2006, 02:30
I'm using the TM for a reason. The Elect. control vac. went south. After checking all I could to get the vac. system to work,I could'nt trace the problem down. Must have a ECM/PCM problem. Had to replace vac. pump once and as you said the cost of a pump can go to the TM. The TM work's great for my use.

DA BIG ONE
07-22-2006, 04:16
In my 99 burb the harness that comes through the firewall to the ecm has been damaged by passengers stretching out their legs. This pulls on the harness and at times if harness is not damaged then some pins maybe pulled from their socket at the computer causing all kinds of things to go haywire.

If you stay w/factory comp be sure to stay at stock boost levels w/turbomaster.

Bnave95
07-23-2006, 04:58