PDA

View Full Version : Stumbling and loss of power on the highway

spark3542
07-27-2006, 04:42
A question for all the diesel wizards.

I've owned my diesel for about a month now, so I'm still very new to diesel operation.

I'm making my own homebrew biodiesel, and have put about 28 gallons of the stuff in it over the course of the last two weeks (yes, I know... recipe for disaster)

It ran fine for about 400 miles, then all of a sudden it coughs and sputters when I'm up on the highway doing about 70 (2500 rpm). I move over to the shoulder and find that I can maintain about 42 mph, so I limp on to the next exit. (idle is smooth, but motor just didn't seem to have any power)

I'm assuming fuel filter is clogged, since I was told this is the first thing that will happen as biodiesel cleans the lines. I carry a spare filter, so I swapped it out. I don't have the appropriate knowledge or tools to purge the air from the lines, so I made sure the filter cup still had as much fuel as possible when I inserted the new one.

It took maybe an extra two seconds of cranking and the engine fired right up and idled smoothly. I jumped back on the highway, and went smoothly for about 10 miles, then stumbled in an identical fashion. I once again limped to the next exit, found a diesel station, and topped off the tank with 15 gallons of petroleum diesel, figuring a blend should only improve things. It didn't. The truck continued to stumble and not exceed 40-50 mph the entire 40 miles home.

After I let the truck sit for a few hours, I started it. It started, then ran VERY loudly for about 4 seconds, and quieted back down.

The SES light is on, and I haven't procured a code reader yet, so I'm still in the dark. Upon initial turning of the key, I see the water-in-fuel light during the test cycle, so I know the bulb is good, but that light has never come on during this entire time.