PDA

View Full Version : Alternator Problems at Idle?

GoremanX
08-15-2006, 20:56
Hello,

I'm new to the message board, but I've been a TDP and mailing list member for a long while.

I own a 1998 K2500 Sierra 6.5TD. Ever since I bought it back in May, it's had an issue where the engine stutters when I accelerate slowly from a dead stop. This is especially apparent when driving in reverse, the engine almost wants to stall. Once the RPMs are high enough, the problem disappears and everything runs flawlessly. I've checked the lift pump, changed the fuel filter, and didn't notice anything amiss in the engine bay. There are no weird noises or anything.

Then earlier tonight while idling at a red light, I noticed that the needle for the voltmeter was jerking around slightly, and my headlights were flickering faintly at the same rate as the jerking needle. I don't usually drive at night, so this has probably been going on since I got the truck.

Maybe the low voltage is affecting the engine's operation near idle? The engine RPMs sit just above 500 at idle, which I find kinda low. But this is the first big diesel I've owned, so maybe it's normal. My last few diesels were old VWs. We've put over 10,000 miles on the truck since we bought it in May, and we've never had a battery die, so I assume the alternator is doing its job when the RPMs are high enough.

What's my next step to fixing this problem?

Thanks,
Frank

DmaxMaverick
08-15-2006, 22:41
Welcome to the Forums!

You problem sounds more like a connection issue. Actually typical in the "salt belt". The grounds and battery connections are crucial for smooth running and battery health. Try cleaning your battery terminals and all ground points. That's usually all it takes to get your electrical system back to normal. Your symptoms indicate a body ground is the suspect.