PDA

View Full Version : What would happen - Diesel & Gas mix-up?

mjammer
08-28-2006, 09:32
A local store somehow got Diesel in the gas tanks and gas in the diesel tanks. Here is a link to the article from the local paper:

http://www.fortwayne.com/mld/journalgazette/news/15340060.htm

My son and I were talking about this and was trying to figure out just how catastrophic this would be to the diesel. Anybody ever done this on accident?

Stlheadake
08-28-2006, 19:23
There have been a couple of (panicked)member posts about this. It seems that it isn't as bad as one might think. According to the posts, the truck will run for a very short time, then shut down. In the two most recent posts that I can recall the pro's advised to drain the tank, change the filters, and drive it like you stole it! Apparently basic daily driving isn't so bad, but if you were working it pretty hard when it stops, it could be worse.

I have no first hand experience here, just what I read. I would have thought that the damage would be fairly catastrophic myself. As for diesel in the gasoline, it would just foul out and kill the gasoline motor. Diesel is too heavy and doesn't burn well in the gasoline engine.

My buddy has an auto repair shop where he routinely gets diesels with contaminated fuel. We have burned 20% diesel in our garden tractors, log splitters, and other gasser engines to get rid of bad fuel. It smells a little different, but it burns.

mjammer
08-29-2006, 03:46
That's interesting as I thought is would be catastrophic too. I wouldn't think gasoline at the high compression of a diesel would be good, i.e. a big boom.

DmaxMaverick
08-29-2006, 11:17
That's interesting as I thought is would be catastrophic too. I wouldn't think gasoline at the high compression of a diesel would be good, i.e. a big boom.

Another part of the equation....Volume.