PDA

View Full Version : First oil change on the LBZ

Quack_Addict
09-05-2006, 07:48
I performed the first oil change on my `06 LBZ on Saturday before leaving on a 200 mile each-way cruise to pick up my boat. Granted, this is my first brand new vehicle, so I don't know if this is normal...

1. I was unable to remove the drain plug by hand - I ended up having to give the wrench a couple taps with a dead blow hammer to get the plug loose.

2. The oil filter was ridiculously tight - the sides of the filter collapsed 1/2 way around the OD while trying to loosen it with my strap style wrench. Just about the time I was starting to think I was going to have to put a screwdriver through the filter (and/or cut the can off the filter with a die grinder and use a chisel on the filter flange), my wrench broke. I've been using this same wrench to change oil for at least 10 years, never a problem. I have an enormous pair of Channel-Lock type pliers that finally got the filter off.

3. The gasket on the production filter stayed glued to the oil filter flange - always looking for the gasket in the filter after the filter is removed definately paid off here. I had to peel the gasket off the flange with a pair of needle nose pliers and clean the filter flange with a razor blade and Scotchbrite pad.

All this with 4800 miles on the truck. Use to this point had been break-in driving (unloaded) and one 200-mile run pulling the boat up north in July. I shudder to think what could have happened if I would have left the job up to the guy in the pit at the oil change shop.

More Power
09-05-2006, 10:47
Good post! You were right to do the first service yourself. I bet just about everyone here could report some sort of PIA experience with even routine service performed by someone else. I know I could... :rolleyes:

Jim

cowboywildbill
09-05-2006, 11:39