PDA

View Full Version : Do I have the same problem?

oldbooks
09-04-2006, 13:30
OK, folks, I am a total newbie to this type of activity, the truck, the problem, the diesel engine, the forum........ALL of it.........so, please bear with me!

I have a '94 Chev 3500HD with a 6.5L engine. For two years, it's been "turn-key" I don't use it much and it sat in my pasture for about 2 months with the fuel cap off then I went to get a load of hay last week. It started as usual, then died; restarted, drove 50 feet, died; restarted drove another 50 feet and died again. This is not a choking, sputtering death--more like someone turned off the switch--instantaneous.

Some time ago, I blew loose an oil cooling line and when the pressure dropped, sirens went off, all kinds of warning to "shut 'er down"......This experience makes me wonder if there is some kind of safety shut off, some sensor detecting water in the fuel which is shutting this engine down?

I've been crawling around under there trying to find a place to drain any accumulated water but find no drain cock. I found what I assume is an in-line metal filter housing, removed it but could get no drainig action from the pump (is it internal?)......even when cranking the engine, no fuel was pumped out of the line on the tank side.

I could be barking up the wrong tree altogether........I am at a loss.......any helpful suggestions would be appreciated. (Please don't tell me to lift up the radiator cap and drive a new truck under it........I've already thought of that)

BTW, I do have a lighted "check engine" light....been on since I bought it.....have never pulled the codes, don't have the facility.....but will say the truck ran fine for 3 years with that light on intermittently. This engine is new, replaced by the previous owner at 117.000 miles.....now showing 125K.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer......

Ed

TurboDiverArt
09-05-2006, 13:45