PDA

View Full Version : Dammit!

chevy4x4grl
09-13-2006, 22:07
So I have my truck scheduled for paint next week and yesterday I found a puddle of oil under it. Crap! I did a little research and took off the flex plate cover to find it's coming from the rear main seal. I've owned this truck for 2 years now and this is the first real problem I've had. I know this is a very involved job to take on and I'm not sure I'm up to the task. However, I don't have the $1500 to fork over to a mechanic for it. I've done some moderately difficult automotive tasks such as installing my trucks suspension lift, replacing my friends tranny, ect. but I am by no means a professional mechanic. The only person I'm going to have helping me is my bf who doesn't know how to change his own oil lol. Sooo any tips? I heard this is a 2 piece seal or something which makes it more difficult. Any help would be a appreciated. Thanks.

john8662
09-14-2006, 11:36
It's a pretty involved job, but something that can be done with some time and patience.

Having a two-piece rear main seal isn't the bad news, actually it's the good news considering you don't have to unbolt the transmission and move it away from the engine to replace the seal. You just have to remove the oil pan and nearby hardware to get to the seal(s).

How bad is the leak?

I'd suggest testing your CDR system (the big tuna can looking thing above the alternator on the passenger's side of the engine).

There are many resources on here and the "content" side of this site that cover the CDR. Check out "excessive oil consumption" under Troubleshooting guide on the main page found here (towards the bottom of the page):

http://www.thedieselpage.com/password.htm

If the CDR system isn't functioning properly, it's allowed pressure of blow-by gasses to build in the engine and force seals to start leaking.

But... The seals do fail, as they're a "rope" seal.