PDA

View Full Version : Boost Gauge Installation need help

JSteward
09-20-2006, 17:39
I don't know how many others viewing this site are in my shoes, but I am very new to diesels. In fact, I don't have much experience with gas engines either. But I do have common sense which I hope will help me with this project. Here's my dielema:

I need to install my boost gauge. I know it needs to go into the "intake manifold inlet." I don't know where that is. Is there any pictures that anyone knows of that can show me where this is on my truck? Also, I've read that it needs to be installed between the I/C and the plenum, but I don't know what that is. I haven't found any pictures of these on my truck.

Thank you for ANY help you guys can offer me.

Robyn
09-20-2006, 17:59
You can remove the air top hat ( aluminum unit that bolts to the very top of the intake) drill and tap a nice hole in the top hat that will accept 1/8th pipe thread and then reassemble the top hat. You may need a new gasket or two.
This will make things nice a clean and you wont be messing with any of the electronic sensors.
*****Dont drill and tap with the top hat on the engine*****
Hope this helps
Robyn

Hubert
09-20-2006, 18:34
JSteward,

I'd suggest you buy the diesel page reference book on the 6.2/6.5, and a Haynes diesel book. Neither are very expensive. The diesel page book is written for the avg joe and easy to understand and has really good technical info and tips. The Haynes manual is good for pictures and skimming through. Not the best book but OK and will educate you on terms and such.

Then if you want to turn wrenches get an Alldata subscription and a factory manual printed by Helm Inc. Then with this website you could research almost anything you ever wanted to know about the 6.5.

lfytsmith
09-20-2006, 18:48