PDA

View Full Version : Which weight to use for rear end 75w90 or 75w140

upsguy
09-21-2006, 19:56
I'm planning on installing new rear diff cover this weekend and was trying to decide which weight of fluid to use. Manual says 75w140 for heavy duty towing.

Probably 30 percent of miles will be used towing less than 7,000 lbs. Is this heavy duty towing for this truck? It's no where close to the maximum tow weight. Also, with new cover, I'll have almost double the fluid as stock and cooling fins will help to keep rear end cooler. Would it be alright to use 75w90 under these conditions? What would it hurt to use 75w140 all the time anyway?

mark45678
09-22-2006, 03:56
fuel economy is the only thing you can gain on by going to lighter fluid. I have heard some claim MPG gains by going to full synthetic oils in the running gear .I have run the lighter 75/90 redline in my truck with no issues. I am not a oil expert like some on this site so it should be a good post....

WILLYD-MAX
09-22-2006, 11:01
I don't think you need the 75/140 with the weight you are pulling. Could I recommend Amsoil severe gear 75/90? I don't think you would need the new rear diff cover if you ran Amsoil. Just my 2cents.

Docklobster
09-22-2006, 15:37
Good questions - I was debating the same. Amsoil 90 or 140? I tow a 10,000lb trailer about 60% of the time. Stock everything.

upsguy
09-22-2006, 17:42
I don't think you need the 75/140 with the weight you are pulling. Could I recommend Amsoil severe gear 75/90? I don't think you would need the new rear diff cover if you ran Amsoil. Just my 2cents.

I probably don't need the new rear diff cover anyway, but in the long run I thought it may pay off. Anyway, I like being able to check the fluid level with the dip stick. I'm getting to where the easier something is, the more likely it is to get done. The dipstick has two lines on it, the lower one is the bottom of the axle and the top is the top of the axle.