PDA

View Full Version : Speed Sensor Recalibrator

Nobby
09-22-2006, 21:46
Hello Everyone, newbie here with my newly purchased vehicle.

Looking into speed sensor recalibrators to accomadate larger tires already on the truck. Couple of questions?
Have been checking the archives and could not really find anything decisive on the VSSB recalibration articles with regards to whether it affects more than just the Speedo reading I.e does it also take care of the ABS system etc. Or should we really recalibrate before the VSSB. If so have been looking at the following products anyone using these with good results?

http://www.superlift.com/accessories/truspeed.asp
http://www.jetchip.com/products.asp?pid=14944

Also if I understand it correctly the transmission shift circuits are seperate to the aforementioned speed sensor circuit.

cheers
Nobby

DA BIG ONE
09-23-2006, 01:41
If you do not have an autotrac you should be ok! W/autotrac it's a flip of a coin

The autotrack requires inputs from 3 speed sensors at the t-case front shaft, rear shaft, & speedo, and it's tied to the ABS too.

Go back to my post a few months ago "hacking VSSB" or something like this.

DennisG01
09-23-2006, 07:10
When you are saying "Autotrac" - are you talking about the 4WD system? I have a button on my dash that says "Auto 4WD". For what it's worth, I recalibrated the VSSB when I put larger tires on and have had no problems. It's pretty simple to do - just a matter of moving some of the jumpers on the VSSB's circuit board. I bought one of the books from the Member's Area and followed the directions in the article about VSSB.

DA BIG ONE
09-23-2006, 08:30