PDA

View Full Version : Injection Pulse Width Error

tburch
10-14-2006, 18:18
My truck has gotten hard to start when it is cold. I check the glow plugs with a test light and they seemed okay but have not checked them with an ohm meter yet. Today after cranking a few times and getting a big cloud of white smoke when it started, the Check Engine Light came on for about 20 seconds. I pulled the code: DTC 36 - Injection Pulse Width Error (Response Time Long). I am relatively new to diesels so don't know if this means a bad injector or what. Anyone with an idea?

Robyn
10-14-2006, 18:48
Injection pump issues starting to creep into the picture
How many miles on the IP??
If its a high miler I would be thinking about getting the pump rebuilt and installing a new set of nozzles to boot.
Keep us posted

Robyn

john8662
10-14-2006, 22:25
Usually this means that the fuel solenoid in the injection pump is getting tired (slow) and it's time for a reman.

The hard starting could be associated with this code.

J

jjgmc96
10-15-2006, 05:18
my experiance has been that it's time for a new fuel solinoid driver, that is mounted on the side of the injection pump. it can be mounted away from the pump on a cooler, my set-up is from kennady. the plug for the (fsd) can be fished out most times without taking off the intake manifold, and it is just long enough to mount setup on the manifold. some say the fsd can be revived by accessing the bottom transisters and snugging the mounting screws. mine is now mounted on the fender well with an extension harness from kennedy as well. lots of other mouting options being used. good luck. other symptoms include stalling, missing or stumbleing. and of course no start.

tburch
10-15-2006, 12:51