PDA

View Full Version : Question - Replacing Injectors

rtphillips370
10-20-2006, 16:19
I have been looking at injectors for my truck (see my signature block). I purchased a book from Haynes that covers most chevy diesels howwver, it appears to cover more of the 5.7L and 6.2 Injection more than the 6.5L TD.

My question is, that other than purchasing the special socket, is there anything that I should be aware of or any special considerations involving changing of injectors on my own?

I'm a novice to intermediate level back yard mechanic on gas but have never worked on a diesel at this level and hate to start pulling injectors and find out that I have biten off more than I can chew. So far the book shows it to be a straight forward job, much like changing spark plugs on a gasser...

Thanks ahead of time...

Hubert
10-20-2006, 16:37
I'd suggest getting the diesel page book its written for the avg joe. It gave me more confidence to do my own injectors.

And read a lot of threads on the subject its been covered several times. Its not real hard but time consuming the first time for us back yard guys.

Buy from reputable source and get an installation kit. If there do glow plugs too.

kevin77
10-20-2006, 17:35
I replaced the injectors on My truck almost a year ago - Did the glow plugs too.

Drivers side can be done in an hour or two.

The passenger side is much more difficult - I had to remove the turbo and hoses to get to the injectors - I also replaced my injector pump at the same time 'cause it was worn out.

Also, Kennedy has this wonderful return line kit that saves you the headache of trying to get those little clips back on the injector return lines. The kit is worth its weight in gold.

Kevin

cudaaa
10-20-2006, 17:53
Hi Robert
I Just got done replacing my injectors. It was not as bad as I thought! You need to remove the turbo. On the back side of the turbo comes off with 4 bolts, this needs to be removed to get the main turbo bolts out!