PDA

View Full Version : HEAVY Duramax 2500HD, HELP!

Chris Hays
10-23-2006, 20:46
I need some help, advice and suggestions on my predicament. I have a 2500hd longbed pickup i use everyday for my job as i am a heavy equipment technician. I do about 1500 miles a week traveling the whole of Texas, Oklahoma and New mexico on jobs. I got a brand new 2005 truck equipped with a service body, crane and all the goodies. At the start it was the perfect chassis for the job as i had 3 extra leaf springs fitted to the crane side of the truck, and two added to the driver side to carry the extra weight of the back end. As time progressed we took on bigger jobs and ended up with bigger tools and now im weighing in at about 13,400 on the scales. It was fine until i blew out the stock rear tire, ok go to a E rating, great for the last 30,000 miles until yesterday when i was driving down the road doing about 60 when the rear right wheel rim split its weld where the front (face) of the wheel is actually welded to the rim where the tire beads sit. It basically blew out through the rim, the tire was fine. During this the rim locked itself up on the brake caliper and as im used to handling heavy uncoperative machinery i was able to save myself from the ditch and crash rail. I know im probably over the weight rating of the stock steel rim but that was unintentional. I want to know is it possible and what would i have to do to make this rig a dually. Is the axle the same, will dual wheels bolt right up, will front wheel spacers fit the srw front hubs to accomodate the dished wheel on the front axle. This truck is at its weight limit and will not be loaded any more. I just need more surface area to roll the weight down the road. Any suggestions would be greatly appreiciated!!:confused:

DmaxMaverick
10-23-2006, 21:36
Welcome to the Forums!

I can't support or recommend overloading, which you are doing by a huge margin. Even overloaded for a 3500 by a ton. Your GVWR is 9200#.