PDA

View Full Version : Haul capacity- can I do this?

Ironoxide
12-02-2006, 07:29
I'm new to diesels ,and pulling campers for that matter!- I just purchased an 06' Sierra 2500HD D/A ext. cab, so please bear with me. I ran a search and really didn't find an answer to my questions, so here goes. I would like to pull my camper (8500lbs.GVW - 1500lbs. tongue weight) after loading my Harley Ultra in the bed (900lbs.). All thing's considered, I'm at ( or just above) the GVW of 9200lbs. I weighed my truck full of gas and it came in at 6600lbs. Also, it should be noted that I added Firestone airbags to the rear suspension. If I weigh out at say 9450lbs.:eek: , am I in any danger of causing vehicle damage? Is safety an issue at this weight?

On a seperate note, I see that the 3500 single rear wheel vehicle is rated at 9900lbs. What is the difference in vehicles? Can I modify my 2500HD meet the higher weight capacity?

Thanks in advance for the help,

DmaxMaverick
12-02-2006, 11:40
Welcome to the Forums!

As far as upgrading your 2500HD to 3500 SRW Capacity, you already have. The airbags put the axle capacity past that. The difference is the springs. The axle is rated by AAM up to 10,500#, and is the same as the 3500 DRW axle, and the brakes are the same, too. The problem now is you are limited by the tires. I can not recommend anyone load beyond the manufacturer's weight rating, but if you do, upgrade your tires. The OEM's are 245/75/16E, rated for 3042# each. The 3500 SRW comes with 265/75/16E, rated at 3415# each. Much safer with a more broad capacity margin (not to mention they fill the wheel wells so much better). If you haven't thought of it yet, consider upgrading your shocks to Bilsteins. Night and day difference, especially when real heavy. The OEM shocks are junk, for lack of a better term.

Ironoxide
12-03-2006, 19:34
Welcome to the Forums!