PDA

View Full Version : 1993 Gmc 2500 6.5l 4x4

Saus
12-02-2006, 08:20
I am in need of some help!! I am thinking of buying a 1993 GMC 2500 6.5L 4x4 with 132,000 miles on it. The seller wants $5,200.00 for the truck. Vin is 1GTGK24F2PE513928. I am fairly new with diesels and this forum so I don't know if this is a good machine or even what to look for when I test drive it. I currently have a 6.2L 3500 an have had no problems with that. I hope that this truck if I buy it will treat me as good. If any one could give me the good or bad of these trucks i would appriciate it greatly. Thank you in advance for any help/info you can provide me.

Robyn
12-02-2006, 10:18
The 93 was the last year for the mechanical injection pumps on the 6.5
They are a good rig and if the truck has been taken care of the price is not bad.
Condition is everything, mileage means nothing.
I just bought a 91 Burb with a 6.2 and 194K on the clock. The interior is like new.

The overall condition of the truck is the most important, sure its nice if the engine runs great and the tranny works good too but the mechanical things can be fixed with relative ease compared to upholstery and the body.

Check the thing out and insist on driving it at least 10-15 miles to warm it up real good. Look under the truck for the obvious like leaks and such.
Take note if the coolant tank on the right firewall shows signs of overflow.
If the engine has leaky head gasket/gaskets the system can be over pressured and blow the coolant out and it will be obvious.
Look at the oil pressure running. 40psi appox Idle 10-20 psi.

When you go to look at it make sure you get to start it from DEAD COLD
This will let you know if it has any cold start issues.
Try the tranny when its first started to see if it will drop into drive and reverse quickly as it should, some times with high miles the tranny can be a little slow to engage when cold.
This is in and of itself is not a reason to run screaming, but can be a bargaining chip.