PDA

View Full Version : New to me truck/coolant issue

bowtie_6.5
12-20-2006, 10:33
Hi newbie here,
Ive done several searches and have not found anything that parrallels my situation, so bear with me if its be answered before. I just recently (two days ago) bought a 1995 6.5l td 2500 2wd std cab w/ utility bed w/ 150,000 miles.
The truck for 11 years old is astonishingly clean and well taken care of, and NO rust for being a jersey truck (kinda odd). The carfax states the truck was a fleet vehicle until I bought. Now to my Problem/story, Picked the truck up 1-1/2 hours away from home. Noticed the coolant was low (added a gallon) and double checked all fluids before leaving to go home. Truck ran great except for a slight miss on big hills, and noticed a mist (coolant overflow/boil over) once or twice (verified visually at rest stop). The whole time the temp never went above 170 and was constant, also when I turned on the heat it was barely luke warm the whole trip. So I get the truck home and took a look in the coolant resivoir and it was low again, so I added another gallon, and then out of curiousity I thought maybe this thing doesn't have a thermostat in it and is airlocked or something. So I pulled the stat housing and bam no stat!!! So I go and get a 195* stat and gasket and install it, refill the system and bleed it suffieciently, take it out for a spin and is slowly climbs to 230* and then boom it drops like a hat to 185* and at the same time the heat comes back in the truck. Obviously the stat opened but it continued to do this until its been run for 25 min or so. Parked the truck and bled more air out.
Runs ok but still some temp surges, it did the same thing this AM and it seems like its just plain airlocked. Also if anyone knows the coolant cpapcity of 6.5l I would appreciate it. So any thoughts? Also I ran some Cetane Boost/cleaner and it runs like a champ no miss!!!

sorry so long winded

Trek 6.5 TD Pusher
12-20-2006, 10:45