PDA

View Full Version : Turbo question... I'm new to these trucks

xtrempickup
12-25-2006, 20:35
Hi, First post to this board and i've had my 95 Sierra 6.5L Turbo Diesel since July. I found tonight that the wastegate actuator is SHOT. it had wire tieing the wastegate shut or close to it so it boosts. I've done the same on most of my turbo cars to get better boost instead of replacing a bum actuator. I looked at this one fast, looks like it doesnt come off the wastegate, like its welded in place to the rod off the can. I might be off, its 930 and dark out and cant see much. Question is has anybody replaced their wastegate actuator before on this type of type and if so where can i get one thats good, new or used, I don't care.

gmctd
12-25-2006, 20:52
Welcome to the forum, X...........

Check out Heath Diesel for replacement actuators, spring or vacuum, and wastegate solenoids and such.

You may enjoy his site.

NYCEGUY01
12-25-2006, 21:04
Turbo-master x2

xtrempickup
12-25-2006, 21:21
i'm a litle slow here, I know a lot of places, but some website names that you are talking about would be helpful.

Hubert
12-26-2006, 07:26
Its heathdieseldotcom or similar you could google it. He has a spring controlled wastegate mechanism for the 6.5 trucks that works well.

You have to have a boost gauge or way to measure boost to set it correctly though. Note with strong emphasis gauges are highly recommended for the 6.5 engine.

Alternatively you could fix the OE system back up it does have a useful purpose and actively controls wastegate with ECM program. It can also be tuned electronically for more performance and still retain some of the OE design safeties. Kennedydiesel.com has an electronic fooler mechanism.

xtrempickup
12-26-2006, 16:36
i have both the EGT and Boost gauge from Banks. most turbo systems are MAP controlled, its not hard to fool them. i just want it working. I wonder what the stock setting is supposed to be

Robyn
12-26-2006, 18:49