PDA

View Full Version : Money hungry 6.5

Jolie
10-11-2003, 10:38
Well, I am not that much of a newbie here, was here a few years ago when we owned our other 6.5L TD (a 1996).

We purchased a 1994 Chevy K3500 6.5L TD manual trans in June from a private seller, truck was in fair shape for its age and miles (147k). Seller assured us that the jerk (more like herky jerky) it had was something minor, he had taken it to a diesel mechanic. So, anyway, we bought the truck without having it checked out.....BIG MISTAKE.

Fast forward 4 months and we are $4k poorer with just repairs.

We have so far done:

Vacuum pump
Oil pressure sending unit
Dual mass flywheel and clutch (replaced with Luk kit solid flywheel and clutch)
Rear axle seals and brakes
Fixed a short in the accellerator

Ended up banging our heads against the wall cause after all this the truck still jerked and stalled.

Finally took it to a competant mechanic and it was indeed the dreaded injection pump.

Injection pump
Transfer pump
Fuel filter

Truck runs perfect now. Don't get me wrong, everything that was changed was bad anyway, but talk about a frustrating and expensive 4 months!!

Sooo, any real advise on how to not have a repeat of the past 4 months? We really don't want to have to do another injection pump on this little monster.

Truck will be used for hauling and towing mostly.

:D

jspringator
10-11-2003, 12:07
Look at it this way. A new duramax truck costs 40,000. With these repairs, you should be good to go for another 100,000 miles. I doubt that that was the first pump replacement on that truck; the new ones can go 100,000 miles, but the old ones didn't.

Jolie
10-11-2003, 12:21
It had a *green dot* pump on it, however, the poor truck's previous owners believed in beating it half to death.