PDA

View Full Version : Dash light for plugs not coming on...wont start

WhiteSierra96
01-17-2007, 07:48
Hey all,

Brand new to the forums i have a 1996 gmc sierra 2500 turbo diesel pick-up and this morning its like -30 degrees celcius outside and well i went to start it and the "please wait" light didnt come on in the dash and the truck wont start, sounds like battery is dead, i tried boosting and nutting. also yesterday we had the vaccuum pump changed due to it being burnt. any help guys on this? btw im no mechanic but i can get around pretty well with some help!

thanks guys

chickenhunterbob
01-17-2007, 11:42
It is highly probable, and I'm about 99% sure on this, that you have a loose or otherwise bad connection of a battery cable.

Warren96
01-17-2007, 13:29
Chick.... makes a good point,Is it the dash lights or the wait to start light, that doesn't light? How about the dome light?

WhiteSierra96
01-17-2007, 18:54
nono just the dash wait to start light, truck cranks and stuff just doesnt catch just dies out...

65TD
01-17-2007, 19:48
Check the glow controller.

Also the ground wires on the intake manifold.

WhiteSierra96
01-18-2007, 10:39
where is the glow controller located? actually last night we actually got her to start with no plugs... a little ether and she fired up but the check engine light came on and well when they must of changed the vaccuum pump they could have disconnected somthing!

moondoggie
01-18-2007, 12:08
Good Day!

[FONT=Verdana][I]

WhiteSierra96
01-19-2007, 12:33