PDA

View Full Version : peculiar no start

alberta
02-16-2007, 17:18
94 6.5l turbodiesel with history of stalling though would always start right up after tuning on ignition again.Today after uneventful month of driving,after a brief(10 min)stop it would not give any sigh of starting tho was vigoresely turning over.After 15min of this,gasping at straws,I tried it in N instad of Park.Guess what,it started right up!After getting it home,I gave it a try in P and it started.Let me know if you know what that is. kev

gmctd
02-16-2007, 20:59
Welcome to the forum , alberta........

That could be a sign that the shift quadrant has rubbed a hole in some wiring insulation - not a good sign.

But, do a search here on FSD\PMD, stalling\dying for more information

d350diesel
02-17-2007, 10:10
I'm by no means an expert on GM trucks, but I think your neutral safety switch is shot.

gmctd
02-17-2007, 12:19
The P\N switch passes current to the start relay or the starter solenoid - he indicated the engine was 'vigorously turning over', but would not run (start), so that switch is probably ok

d350diesel
02-17-2007, 16:49
D'oh! Missed that, sorry. :o

gmctd
02-17-2007, 17:50
Syntax, my friend - matter of syntax................:)

alberta
02-18-2007, 12:00

That could be a sign that the shift quadrant has rubbed a hole in some wiring insulation - not a good sign.

Thanks will check thread. kevin

alberta
02-21-2007, 02:52

Thanks to your reply,I/ve reviewed FSD\PMD.Can I test for ignition switch failure?I see the switch is in the lower part of the steering column.Is the post of 1-24-07 by ROBYN applicative? kevin

gmctd
02-21-2007, 10:58
Sure - usual sign of failed ign switch is no\erratic WTS indication and warning lites, no starter, stalling\dying but that is another area to investigate

I'm looking for the post by Robyn..................

Ok - yes, anything you haven't tried is a good area to investigate.