PDA

View Full Version : Help....Please !!!, starts then dies, will not restart

Bowtie Fox
03-04-2007, 17:49
I thought I had one of the few bullet proof 6.5 inection pumps. I did the new PMD with heat sink mod about 3 years ago. No problems till last week.
Engine started, ran about 30 seconds, the died, that was it. I left it for a couple of days. Same thing, ran for about 30 seconds, then died, no restart.

Thinking I had another bad PMD, I ordered, but not installed a new PMD.

I'm a BMW tech, so I have access to AllData, per the Alldata troubleshooting
chart, after checking several things, I was instructed to unplugg the fuel temp. sensor. I'll be damn, the engine started, not very easily, but it did finally start and idle fine.
The Alldata chart says to replace the fuel injection pump, can this fuel sensor not be replaced without replacing the complete pump assembly ???

My truck is a 2000 model and has 106,000 miles on it.

Also I think I got a letter from GM stating that the injection pump was under warranty for 12 years or 120,000 miles ?? anyone know anything about this ??

billschall
03-04-2007, 18:21
Bowtie,

Edit your signature in the User CP (control panel) to identify your truck, including mods, so we all know what you're dealing with.

Yes, there is an 11 year, 120K mile warranty on the pumps. Check the TSB list in your AllData. It is Bulletin No.: 00064F, dated: September 2004.

Good luck!

-Bill

sailun
03-04-2007, 20:18
Read my lips:

"Go get the free new pump on warrantee !!!!!!"

Bowtie Fox
03-04-2007, 20:24
I found the SIB, Chevy dealer here I come......

Something funny, if you read the SIB, near the end, it talks about destroying
all the electrical connectors and damaging the old pump so it does not end up on Ebay for sale....

I added the Ebay comment

GMC-RKL
03-06-2007, 22:31
Hello Bowtie,