PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Leak

Cam2006
03-21-2007, 18:38
Hello Guys, I'm still pretty new here and I have yet another question.

I'm new to the diesel field as well, but it looks like two of my injectors are leaking on my truck. I just noticed this today after I got home, I decided to lift the hood while the truck was running and noticed smoke coming up (wasn't smoking until a minute after I openned hood) and looked over and noticed that there was fuel leaking on my manifold. Shut the truck off and let it cool for a little bit and looked at it. I am pretty sure it is my injector. I noticed that my number 1 injector is leaking a little bit but there is not much coming out yet, but the next one towards the cab is leaking pretty bad (my opinion). I'm pretty sure it is leaking towards the cylinder, but I just searched the forum and noticed it might be the return line off of the injector but I'm out of daylight.

So if I find out it is a leaking injector, I take it that this means it's a bad injector? Or do these have o rings that my go bad? The truck has 158,000 miles on it and I do not know when the last time they were serviced or messed with by the previous owner. And if it is my injectors (or return lines), would it be ok to drive 200 miles so I can have an adequate spot to work on it?

Also when starting it takes a little bit to get it started, theres plenty of white smoke coming out of the exhaust (even today with 75 degree weather outside). And after starting it sounds like it surges a couple of times then knocks for a few minutes and then it runes normal.

Thank you very much
~Mike~

DickWells
03-21-2007, 20:33