PDA

View Full Version : Tall tires Lower RPM?

dinochorizo
03-22-2007, 09:50
Ok
So If I have a 4x4 with 4.10s and want to reduce RPM wouldn't
larger tires lower it? I am new to this stuff but I'm thinking better
MPG. I will tow a 22' toy hauler loaded at 7500lb but only 6 times a year.
Thanks

trbankii
03-22-2007, 09:58
Yes. A larger tire has a greater circumference. So the wheel turns fewer revolutions to go the same distance as a smaller tire. Sort of like someone with shorter legs walking faster to keep up with someone with longer legs. Just don't drop it too far or you're going to worse mileage for "lugging" the engine.

DennisG01
03-22-2007, 10:00
Better MPG? Not entirely - larger tires are heavier and have more rolling mass, thereby reducing the benefits. But, yes, larger diameter will reduce RPM's at the same ground speed. You'll have to adjust your VSSB to keep things equal, though. Otherwise your speedometer/odometer will read lower than actal.

dinochorizo
03-22-2007, 10:40
MPG wont improve at slow, get them rolling speeds but once on the highyway
think it might? Also has anyone done this and how big do you need to go to actually notice lower RPM in the cab while driving say 65mph?
Thanks

Subzilla
03-22-2007, 10:46
Just went from 32" to 35" on the Sub and the RPM's drop. With my old 6.2, I do have to "drive" the transmission more around the hills and such. I haven't had them long enough to take a trip with them so I don't know about mileage, yet. Overall, I'm happy with them. Do a search on line for rpm calculater. You'll be able to plug in transmission type, tire size, gear ratio to get rpm's.

Craig M
03-22-2007, 12:10