PDA

View Full Version : 6.5l N/a problem

bchummer
03-23-2007, 20:58
Hi guys newbie here.
I've got a '95 Hummer with a rebuilt 6.5 non turbo (about 5000 mi. on rebuild). On cold starts I'm getting alot of bluish smoke with a definite miss o one of the cylinders. After about 30-45 seconds there is a loud knocking. The smoke and the miss starts to dissapear at this point until it seems to be "warmed up" and the knocking subsides, but never really goes away.
I recently changed the injection pump and turned up my fuel which definitley made the truck run much better, but the symptoms were there before and after the pump change. I have no issues with the way the truck runs after it is warmed up, except for the knocking.
Any thoughts?
TIA

john8662
03-24-2007, 08:00
I'd suggest checking the injection line routing to the cylinders.

Do you have a diagram in a manual?

Perhaps one of the lines was swapped during a previous injection pump R&R.

If the lines were mis-routed previously, it stands to reason that the same thing could happen during your pump replacement as well.

I'm also moving this to the 6.5L Forum.

J

Robyn
03-24-2007, 14:42
Welcome to TDP

As John mentioned the routing on the lines is a good thing to check.
If this issue just came on you may have a bad injector.
Check the lines for routing to the proper cylinder and if this is ok try loosening each injector line one at a time with the r=engine running untill you find the offending hole.
Replace that injector and the issue should resolve itself,
My guess is you have a nozzle that squirting rather than spraying.

These things can and do develop an issue and start tossing out a peeeeeee stream rather than a fine mist in a cone shaped pattern.

Good luck

Robyn

bchummer
03-24-2007, 21:21
Thanks for the suggestions.
I wasn't sure which of the forum headings these engines should go under since they seem to have more in common with the 6.2 than the 6.5 turbo, but now i know!