PDA

View Full Version : Differential Bearings?

bmiszuk
04-03-2007, 11:16
I have been chasing a noise for several months now and think I've narrowed it down to the carrier bearing(s) in the rear diff. It's a grinding noise that starts somewhere above 20mph and is most apparent between 20-35mph but can be heard at other speeds also. At first I thought it was front wheel bearings but the bearings are new and the noise still there. The noise changes with road speed but does not change if I put it into neutral. It sounds like it's coming from front left, but maybe that's just because I'm sitting in the drivers seat.

From what I read, this is typical of carrier bearing failure. The tranny and transfer case were recently rebuilt so I doubt the trouble is there. U-joints are all new, front wheel bearings are new.

1. Any other places I should check before tearing into the diff? I'm planning on simply replacing all the bearings, not the R&P.
2. Am I correct to assume that I have a 10-bolt 8.5" diff?
3. If I'm just replacing bearings, is there a good chance I can simply reuse the shims that were in there? I will check the pattern, of course, but am hopeful for an easy setup.

Thanks.

Bob

darkroad
04-03-2007, 14:59
Hi Most of the time if you are replacing the bearings and not installing a new ring gear set just use the shims that were in there. Be sure and not skimp, use only timkin bearings. Some rebuild kits are not timken , most that are let you know that timken is what you are getting. Just rebuilt my wifes 1992 suburban rear end last rear. Bought the complete rebuild kit. Wheel bearings and seals, carrier bearings and pinion bearings. I did have to check my clearances since I was also installing a new posi unit but luckly I didnt have to change anything. Good pattern and backlash right in the middle of specs.

Good Luck

Darkroad

Robyn
04-03-2007, 18:06
As long as you keep the shims where they came from you will be fine.