PDA

View Full Version : whats the deal with these injectors??

doncentex
05-26-2007, 04:30
total newbie here again and I'm not trolling for a fight but..........

What's the deal with these injectors? I heard horror stories about 92~95 needing to be replaced but it seems to go on now too. This must be the reason that Ford runs magazine adds 2 pages wide with a truck pix on the right side and a pix of an injector on the left that looks like its from a nuclear reactor. I guess Ford is capitalizing on the woes.

or are injectors like spark plugs used to be. Just have to be replaced every 25K miles.

Looks like they could get these things right but I guess the issues are reliability and trying to keep up with EPA standards. Must be difficult to fight both battles. Why don't F250s have this problem. Personally, I said I'd never have another Ford after owning a Taurus SHO but maybe trucks are different. I really wanna stick with Chevy. Convince me please.

Normally, I buy used vehicles 20-50K miles and keep them almost forever. If wheels fall off I put them back on and keep going. I went 180K in my 82 Suburban until I traded it on a 99 suburban in 02.

Ok guys, let me have it I know I asked for it.

Besides the KEWL factor:cool: I do have a reason for wanting a diesel, I've to a 26' TT and boat and I'd like to go big 5th wheel soon.

99 Suburban and diesel wannabee maybe.
Don

Shed
05-26-2007, 08:59
Don,
Pretty new here too, advice: stick around you will learn alot real quick listening to these people.