PDA

View Full Version : New owner with some questions, batteries for now!

la350
05-28-2007, 10:21
I just purchased via Ebay a '99 3500 Crew cab. Its in great shape, seems to run well, body/interior/etc in very good condition. It has 136K on it and because it came from a dealer, I have no knowledge of any repairs/upgrades.

First off, a little about me. I just transitioned out of a 89 Ford 350 with the 7.3 IDI. I loved the truck but my wife hated the stick shift and any time we had to swap vehicles for the day it caused grief. I added a 3.5" exhaust, Hypermax Turbo, Luk clutch and about 5000.00 of other upgrades and just sold it for 3K. Don't tell the wife!! It was a pulling machine (at least with our 5k travel trailer)and with the 5sp/3.55 rear, it got me about 18/19 mpg. For paying for truck upgrades, the day job has me as a high school counselor and summers are spent in Alaska as a commercial fisherman.

I'm having some issues with the '99. When I went to pick up the truck from the shipping company, it had a 1000 cca Napa Orbital battery and a new wally world 600cca that the dealer had installed. Needless to say, it was a bear to start and I put new standard 1000cca battery in its place. It started fine for two weeks but is now becoming harder to start again. It turns over but sounds slower than normal. I put the charger on last night and it read 5 amps when I hooked into the system and still 5 amps this morning when I checked it. Both batteries measure about 13v with the truck turned off and 14.5v when the truck is running. I will check it again before I start it tomorrow morning to see if voltage dropped over night...... Could having the Orbital battery matched up with the standard battery cause any problems? Any other suggestions on where to look? How do I tell if the starter is dragging a bit?