PDA

View Full Version : suggested replacement air filter element

Dusty Trails
05-30-2007, 22:24
I'm looking for a good air filter element for my '05 LLY and was wondering what you guys suggest. I'm keeping the stock unit, for now, as I'm still on the fence about CAI's. I noticed today that Fram has a cleanable synthetic that requires no oiling. Anybody with any experience with it? Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks.

Duramaster
05-30-2007, 23:20
Hey Dusty,

I can tell you the proper air filter to use as far as GM is concerned::::::::::::

Subject: Information on the Proper Air Filter for the Duramax Diesel #05-00-90-001 - (01/05/2005)

Models: 2001-2005 Chevrolet Silverado

2001-2005 GMC Sierra

with 6.6L Duramax

Kennedy
05-31-2007, 19:36
On my site under Tech Tips you'll see what I run on my LLY.

WILLYD-MAX
06-01-2007, 18:22
I am no expert on this but I sure like my Amsoil cleanable EaA filter. It is not an oilable filter but is a high effictiency synthetic media that is cleanable with a vacuum or low pressure air, guaranteed for 4yrs. or 100k. I tap the dirt out of mine at every oil change. I am not convinced on it lasting that long on the air volume that the duramax pulls. I have used the UNI that Kennedy talked about and I think its a great filter but I hate the cleaning process on those type of filters.

LanduytG
06-02-2007, 16:49
AC Delco would not be my choice. A test of air filters was done here about a year or two ago. It got a lot of attention, so much in fact that someone was invited to the K&N lab to see some testing. This person swore by the AC Delco. When he came back he was on the phone to me for the new EaA Amsoil filter.

Greg

Duramaster
06-02-2007, 21:19