PDA

View Full Version : How Much Blue Smoke Do U Get

phill0072
07-06-2007, 06:48
this one is for anyone who has to idle their truck for a extended time atleast six hours or more like I do

here's what I am getting after I idle for atleast 4 hours i get blue smoke for about 1 or 2 miles after sitting then it goes away not to return until I idle again, and I will not see any blue smoke if I idle for less then 4 hours I am guessing that it is puddling some where and when I start driving it starts burning it. I never will see any smoke at idle. I have talked to hot shot & drive a way guys and other expediters with the d-max they say they don't get it like I do and they idle as much as I do, maybe someone here has seen this I had one tech admit that I should not see that much smoke he said it is probley the turbo, luckly its under warrenty. please help I am a easy driver the worst thing I do is idle but I have to

p.s. I use about a quart of oil in 7500 miles I do use amsoil syn gm says it is normal to use this muck oil
2006 express with a lly -82547 miles

Philsauto
07-06-2007, 06:53
this one is for anyone who has to idle their truck for a extended time atleast six hours or more like I do

here's what I am getting after I idle for atleast 4 hours i get blue smoke for about 1 or 2 miles after sitting then it goes away not to return until I idle again, and I will not see any blue smoke if I idle for less then 4 hours I am guessing that it is puddling some where and when I start driving it starts burning it. I never will see any smoke at idle. I have talked to hot shot & drive a way guys and other expediters with the d-max they say they don't get it like I do and they idle as much as I do, maybe someone here has seen this I had one tech admit that I should not see that much smoke he said it is probley the turbo, luckly its under warrenty. please help I am a easy driver the worst thing I do is idle but I have to