PDA

View Full Version : Help with exhaust

poppa
07-10-2007, 13:46
Alright, I am a newbie when it comes to automotive diesels.

I just purchased a 96 chevy 6.5, 3500 with only 97k miles to pull a 31 foot Keystone Cougar.

I want to put a little polish on the old girl up some. From what I have read herein a new crossover and exhaust is the first step. Does this beast have a cat convertor and do you delete it.

So guys where do I start and where are the most reasonable sources.

Oh this coming summer I will be towing out West in the mountains.

Any help would be appreciated:D

Hubert
07-10-2007, 15:16
Clipped....

Oh this coming summer I will be towing out West in the mountains.

Any help would be appreciated:D

I love my truck and its a fairly economical daily driver and light duty work truck hauling trash, tools, toys etc, and ocasional slow tows of 14K gross locally.

But you may want to consider another diesel before you get in too deep. What kind of weight are you going to total up as and your expectations (cruise control A/C speeds up grades). It can take some blood, sweat, and tears to make the 6.5 tow like it really should and its already 11 years old. It might need some maintenance before mods. Diesels last a long time but require $$$ maintenance after 120K miles to perform like they should.

You need exhaust AND guages (~$800-1500 depending) first then more mods depending on your satisfaction. As far as sources any of the supporting vendors are highly recommended and have great tech support for the 6.5. You can get lucky on ebay for somethings but buyer beware and its safer once you get a little specific experience on the 6.5 under your belt. Supporting vendors are a better bet until then. Beware of anyone promising significant HP gains with a few bolt on mods. It takes a systematic approach and keeping all systems healthy to build reliable power with the 6.5.

Best thing to do is read read read the forum a while before diving in so you know what is normal.