PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...

GVWR
08-13-2007, 10:23
I just bought an '06 GMC 2500 HD with the LBZ.
The truck has 18K miles. GMC dealer says they serviced it, which means what?
What should I do first?

Thanks

Mark Rinker
08-13-2007, 10:50
By all means, ask your dealer what they did as part of that service. With that shop work order in hand, here is my advice, in order of importance:

1) Read your manuals and digest the service intervals. Meeting or exceeding (with documentation) will bode well for you in the case of future warranty work.

2) Regardless of what use the truck has seen - make sure that the rear diff has been serviced, meaning replaced with a high grade synthetic. If it hasn't, do that before anything else. http://www.thedieselpageforums.com/tdpforum/showthread.php?t=28686

3) Pick a good synthetic diesel engine oil that meets or exceeds manufacturers specs in step #1, and start a consistant regimine. Personally, we do 10K oil change intervals with Mobil Delvac 15/40. OEM paper air filters done every oil change, regardless of visual condition.

4) Fuel filters should be done at least every 10K-20K. Not sure what manufacturers specifications are. We carry a spare and necessary wrenches in each truck and haven't been stranded but once in super cold conditions when we were seeing water separating and freezing in the fuel samples. Most here agree that filtration is key to injector longevity, there are additional filtration methods sold and discussed here.

5) Personal choice, but we run sythetics in front diff, and conventional ATF in transmission and transfer cases. Front diffs and transfer cases get done annually, before snow plowing season. Transmissions get spin-on filters and whatever drains (about 7 quarts) out every other oil change, or 20K miles.