PDA

View Full Version : Oil filters and fuel filters

Jarmstrong
08-18-2007, 06:47
We're buying my wife a 07 lbz... I'm pretty excited, I get it when it's paid off ;)
I'm new to the duramax but have a lot of experience with the cummins and psd, and with alot of marine and big truck engines. I'm a die hard amsoil guy but the won't be putting it in the engine until after the warranty is up. i like schaeffer's so I think I'll use the 5w40.
What oil filters and fuel filters are recommended? is gm wierd about warranty if certain filters are not used? I like and am impressed with amsoil, hastings, donaldson, and baldwin filters. any problem using these?
thanks
-Jason

Robyn
08-18-2007, 07:49
Just to cover your tail use whatever MA General says until the warranty is over. :)

After that its pretty much up to you as to what to use.

I have used the synth oils but I'm of the opinion that they are too $$$$ for what you get.
Fillters are another area thats a toss up. The names you mention are good. I use Napa Gold on all my rigs even the big truck (Cat)

The fancy stuff IMHO is $$$ spent for little return.
Be sure your fuel filter is a 2 micron to keep the system happy and clean.

If the fuel filter is not 2 micron a Racor might be a good addtion.

Good luck and enjoy the new truck :D:D

Robyn

gillguy
08-22-2007, 13:35
If you like Amsoil, why not use it now?
As long as it meets the API requirement your good to go.
As for filters I've been trying to decide on which one I'm going to use.
I've got 7687 miles on it and changed the oil/fuel/spin-on trans filter to Wix yesterday. The Wix fuel filter (33910) has a micron rating of 4, which is the lowest I could find (published), if there is one lower I'd like to know about it.
As for oil I used Mobil Delvac 1300 15W40.