PDA

View Full Version : My Truck's Bigger than Your Truck

rustyk
08-19-2007, 20:29
I haven't seen many vehicles on TDP other than Burbs or Pickemups. So here's a picture of StaRV II, whose main function is to transport my two (not-spoiled) Golden Retrievers, lots of astronomy equipment, and me to astronomical sites.

Behind it is my most used scope, an 11".

This is my first GM diesel (I have a Ford 1-ton van with the IH 6.9L NA diesel, and have owned several in cars, besides M-B, the odd one being an '81 diesel Nissan Maxima 5-spd. But being a marine engineer, I just like diesels because they're easy to keep happy, and don't mislead you. But I speak wtihout experience (nor the desire to get any) about electronically-messed-with diesels...

gmctd
09-06-2007, 10:07
Certainly a lot more comfortable, also - what's the configuration, 4L80E output to drive axle.

Is this the one you were agonizing over replacement 6.2, 6.5 upgrade, and we were suggesting IH or Cummins - or was that another member, here?

How's the power vs thermal dissipation with the engine at the rear?

rustyk
09-14-2007, 19:17
Certainly a lot more comfortable, also - what's the configuration, 4L80E output to drive axle.

Is this the one you were agonizing over replacement 6.2, 6.5 upgrade, and we were suggesting IH or Cummins - or was that another member, here?

How's the power vs thermal dissipation with the engine at the rear?

I wasn't agonizing over engine replacement (although I would have been had AMG not bought the 6.5L TD from GM). A Peninsular Diesel engine (done to my specs) has been a worthwhile investment.

Thermal dissipation is excellent, but one should know that the radiator on my diesel pusher has about 3X the capacity of the typical front-engine setup - and the oil cooler and A/C condenser have their own sites. Only the transmission (a 4L80E [HD aftermarket] as you mentioned) has a passage in the radiator. The radiator fan dwarfs those in pickups.