PDA

View Full Version : Diesel Newbie: P0251 Code, runs rough above 1,800 RPM

DeepSouthRick
08-21-2007, 06:18
I'm a diesel newbie who's trying to help his dad diagnose some problems with his 98 GMC Sierra 2500 with the 6.5 Turbo Diesel.

My experience is with gasoline engines, so I'm reading everything I can about the 6.5 and common troubles.

He bought the truck used, and the former owner said the Injector Pump had been replaced. I would presume a new FSD came along with that. The former owner didn't know.

The Problem:

The truck idles perfectly and starts flawlessly. However, at about 1,800 RPM, the engine begins to sputter and miss. If this were a gasoline engine, I would suspect fuel starvation.

Heat doesn't seem to be a factor, as this problem occurs at startup.

I put my OBDII computer on it, and found one code: P0251. Dirty optical sensor, maybe? I cleared the code, and it hasn't returned. The sputtering occurred unchanged as the engine temp rose and settled in at 178. The sputtering occurs whether sitting in park, mild driving, or under hard pulls.

I drove the truck for about five hours one day during this Georgia heatwave, and the sputtering SEEMED to calm after about 30 minutes on the interstate, and get somewhat worse after about 45 minutes of Atlanta city driving (high that day was 104, I think). But it could've been my impatience with Atlanta traffic and the broiling heat. For the most part, the symptoms changed very little througout a wide range of driving conditions.

From what I've learned the past few days, relocating the FSD or adding a heat sink is probably a good idea. But I'm not convinced just yet that the FSD is the problem, because I would've expected to see a more dramatic change througout the day that I drove the truck. I hate to tell my dad, who's retired, to drop $500 on an FSD relocation kit and "hope" that fixes it.