PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 Rough Idle

swamppop
08-22-2007, 14:11
I think my last post got erased.
Oh well,
it was about my 6.5 missing at idle.
Misses, idles very rough, shakes the truck, etc.
Runs good at any other rpm.
many new parts, none worked.
6th injector pump replaced about 2 years ago.
Any advise?

Robyn
08-22-2007, 16:59
First off

Welcome to TDP

What year is your truck? does it have electronic injection or mechanical.

Once we know this we can move forward on a diagnosis.

Good to have you on board

Robyn

swamppop
08-22-2007, 19:43
I sent all info in my first post, but it went blank when I sent it, sorry.
I am a newbie.
1994 3500 xcab 4X4 with a NEW GM CRATE 6.5 with 20k on it.
However it is 7 years old.
Gerhardts in BR, LA. put the motor in with all new parts and I was extremely satsfied with the work.
However, I have sinced moved to the sticks, in NW AR.
This is now a farm truck which idles a lot,
or not, now
No mechanic in town to fix it, none, not even the dealer.
Near Fort Smith.
I have new fuel lines, filters, solindiods, pumps etc.!
1K in parts so far, no change.
At idle the truck shakes so bad you think it was falling apart,
It runs at ANY rpm fine, but not at idle.
My 6th injector pump was about 2 years ago, I hoped that was my last.
Any sugestions welcome, any one wants to fix it, I'll give you directions,
Thanks, Steven

swamppop
08-28-2007, 14:51
:( no replies to my ?

Robyn
08-28-2007, 16:05
Without seeing the truck in person this is a toughy.
Do a compression test, all cyinders should be over 320.
If compression good then the issue can be either IP or injectors.

If Comp good then get injectors checked for pop and pattern.
Injectors good then IP is to be suspect.
I have seen many issues on these but for just idle to be rough???

Does it smoke a lot when its idling?

If smoking then again injectors possibly bad.
While its idling go through and crack the High pressure lines loose one at a time until you find the cylinder thats not firing.