PDA

View Full Version : my first diesel

staszekgra
09-02-2007, 17:48
Hey, this is my first diesel pick up truck, however I have driven a few diesel cars when I lived in Europe. All the time I owned gas cars with minimum maintenance so last month I decided to buy a old diesel truck. I don't know much about diesel maintenance but I'd like to learn more. Some my questions looks weird to you, but I don't deny - I've got little knowledge right now but I'm trying to learn something.
I bought and drove the truck in/from Washington, 2000 miles to Illinois; transmission went out, I had to replace it, needs some TLC, but I think that everything will be OK

DarylB
09-02-2007, 21:29
Slick looking old truck - does it have a 700R4 tranny?

ercaduceus
09-03-2007, 01:12
Nice. I haven't see too many regular cab, short box diesels around.

staszekgra
09-03-2007, 06:37
Yes, there is 700 R4 overdrive, it's 4x4 truck. I was looking for step side model but that kind of truck is very hard to find so I ended with shortbox fleetside model...

HH
09-03-2007, 06:51
Nice looking truck. Where are you in IL?

staszekgra
09-03-2007, 09:11
Chicago
I've seen personally nice looking restored 1982/3?? Chevy stepside diesel (1987 engine 30 000 miles, manual trans) in Germantown, WI, but I didn't buy er.
I saw GMC truck on craigslist (WA) so I went for it. Unfortunately auto trans was shot while I was driving back home so I had to pay much more I expected :eek: Right now I replaced water pump (I mean my friend - I have to learn a lot to became a good "home mechanic") and I'm thinking of little TLC (interior).

gmctd
09-03-2007, 10:24
Looks like a clean vintage truck - you can get the door hinge bushings from GM to cure the sagging door(s) - remove the hinge, grind the upset off the hinge-pin, remove the pin, 1/8" drill for cotter key - remove\replace the bushings, in with the pin, set the key, do the second hinge, and yer good to go - doors open\close like new