PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 Injector Pump install

Rob Smith
09-13-2007, 04:55
Any tips changing out my 6.5 Injector Pump on my 99 GMC Suburban 2500 4x4? I'm a Prototype Mechanic and I'm sure I can handle it, I'm just looking for any tips you Pros may have. Thanks!

moondoggie
09-13-2007, 05:54
Good Day!

It's real straightforward, shouldn't be a problem.

I'd make sure to verify that there are timing marks stamped on the IP & the part it bolts to; hopefully your replacement IP will also have a mark so you can line them up, which will probably be close enough so you can drive it somewhere to ge the timing-TDCO set where you want it.

Most folks remove the fuel lines at the back of the IP; I've only done NA 6.2s so far, but always took the lines off at the injectors. In this way, I avoided the REAL common mistake of crossing two of the lines on reinstall. Apparently it's REAL easy to do this - many fine DP mechanics have done this. I'd guess this might be impractical on your 99 - the passenger side (US) front lines are probably buried under the turbo. If so, just be REAL careful about getting the injector lines back on the right IP ports, eh? ;)

Good Luck & Blessings!

gmctd
09-13-2007, 07:11
Welcome to the 'Page, Rob Smith............

Do a search for member COWRACER - he detailed just such an event a while back, maybe even with pics

Robyn
09-13-2007, 08:03
Get the manifold off and plug the intake ports or use duct tape to cover them.
The lines can be removed in pairs from the engine. (keep the clamps in place that pair the lines up. Use some tape and mark the lines as to which cyls they came from and your set for an easy road back together.

The oil filler must be removed from the front of the cover (Pushes into the grommet)
This allows access to the bolts holding the gear to the IP. (3)

*** Note here*** Use BLUE loctite on these bolts when you reinstall them. If one falls out its GAME OVER