PDA

View Full Version : Need Help!! coolant resivoir has oil in it.

cheapthrill
09-30-2007, 08:59
I bought a 1996 6.5 turbo suburban yesterday sight unseen. Then when i got it home the low coolant light came on so i popped the hood and the coolant resivoir is black and has oil in it???? The dipstick on the motor still looks good, but the oil filler cap is milky. What could it be???? I'm new to diesel, but can work my way around sbc's no problem. Also the turbo has oil coming from it. The rubber hose that comes from the intake wasn't clamped down, so I'm hoping that is fixed. An input would be great. This is my first post so Hi all.

DmaxMaverick
09-30-2007, 10:25
Welcome to the Forums!

It's probably not oil in the reservoir, but soot. Sounds like a head gasket, but could be hardware. Head gaskets aren't too bad to do, and if you know your way around SBC's, you should be able to handle it. On a cold engine, open the radiator cap to relieve pressure then tighten it. Start the engine and feel (squeeze) the upper radiator hose. You can also place a pressure testing cap on it. If it becomes pressurized very quickly, and/or you get bubbles in the overflow tank, it's likely the head gasket. Could be a head crack (or worse, cylinder crack, but more rare), but you won't know until you get the head off, which is inevitable if you get any combustion gas in the coolant. Certain head cracks are common, and easily repaired with a kit. You can also have the coolant tested for contaminants, but you can usually tell without it. If you have oil in the coolant, it shouldn't turn black, but soot will.